DHC2018 Scientific Committee

Welcome message

Dear colleagues, 

On behalf of the Scientific Committee of the 16th International Symposium on District Heating and Cooling, it is a pleasure for me as Chairman of the Committee to welcome you to participate in the Symposium in Hamburg, Germany on September 9-12, 2018.
This symposium is the world's meeting place for district heating and cooling experts for more than 30 years now. It is one of the most reputed international events for communication of academic and industrial research. We are planning pre-tour, side events and workshops. In 2018, the 16th International Symposium on District Heating and Cooling will be hosted by the HCU Hamburg. District Heating has a strong history in Hamburg since it was first implemented in 1893. It was the first district heating system in Europe. Today the district heating network of Hamburg has a length of 812 km with 460.000 connected residential units. 8 Power plants have a district heating output of 5TWh per year. 
Ongoing discussion on ownership models for the district energy grids in Hamburg makes the related topics more visible to the public than in other cities. Furthermore, Hamburg is one of Germany’s leading cities for innovation in district energy generation, distribution and sector coupling.
Trends of the energy transition in Germany is challenging for Hamburg as well as for many other cities. These trends can be observed also worldwide and they are a most promising precondition for an intensive professional exchange at the 16th International Symposium on District Heating and Cooling.
I hope many researchers, stakeholders, and interested people will use this great opportunity to participate with papers, posters or just by attending The Symposium. Please feel invited warmly to already engaged in DCH and anyone who is new in this field to present, listen, learn, debate, network during this special traditional academic Symposium.

Welcome to The 16th International Symposium on DHC!

Ingo Weidlich
Chairman of the Scientific Committee       





Members of DHC2018 Scientific Committee

Prof. Dr. -Ing. Martin Achmus
Prof. Dr. Gatis Bazbauers
Prof. Dr. Dagnija Blumberga
Prof. Dr. -Ing. Clemens Felsmann
Mr. Lars Gullev
Prof. Dr. -Ing. Stefan Holler
Dr. Heiko Huther
Dr. Ianakiev Anton
Prof. Dr. -Ing. Oliver Kastner
Dr. Kyung Min Kim
Prof. Bruno Lacarrière
Prof. PhD. Dr. Techn. Henrik Lund
Ass. Prof. Natasa Nord
Prof. Dr. Ólafur Pétur Palsson
Prof. PhD. Irene Peters
Dr. -Ing. Peter Riederer
Prof. Dr. Rolf Ulseth
Dr. Dietrich Schmidt
Prof. Dr. Andres Siirde
Prof. Svend Svendsen
Prof. Dr. Sanna Syri
Prof. Dr. -Ing. Thorsten Urbaneck
Dr. Robin Wiltshire
Prof. Jianjun Xia
Ass. Prof. Dr. Nazdaneh Yarahmadi